In the world of digital advertising, understanding key metrics is crucial for both publishers and advertisers looking to maximize revenue and reach their target audiences effectively. Tracking CPM, or cost per thousand impressions, is one way both publishers and advertisers measure if an ad is reaching and converting key audiences. For advertisers, CPM represents the price they pay to reach a thousand viewers with their message, while for publishers, it reflects their earning potential based on ad visibility.
In this blog, we’ll expand on CPM’s role in digital advertising, what CPM stands for, and how to calculate the CPM metric. We’ll also explore other digital paid marketing pricing models and the benefits of CPM marketing in helping advertisers and publishers adjust their strategies to maximize ad goals.
Next Millennium helps you put the right ads in the right places.
What does CPM mean? CPM is a standard metric in advertising, standing for cost per mille or cost per thousand impressions. CPM is tracked for different purposes depending on which side is approaching it: advertisers seek lower CPMs, and publishers seek higher CPMs. Each one is trying to maximize their revenue or impact and will take different actions to achieve their goals.
The trick is to understand the significance of the data, what factors affect it, and what should be changed to increase or decrease the metric. CPM is typically used for display advertising, and different ad formats and ad networks can command higher CPMs.
Calculating CPM in marketing is easy. It is a metric used to measure the cost per 1,000 impressions in digital advertising. An impression is determined every time your ad appears on a webpage, in search results, or anywhere else served online. It is not a click or an engagement. There isn’t any guarantee that a user even registered your ad as they browsed.
Advertisers aim to keep costs low for better ROI on each impression. In contrast, publishers are content with competitive bidding, which increases their revenue potential from in-demand ad slots.
In studying what CPM is in advertising metrics, you’ll discover a symbiotic relationship between it and CTR (Click-Through Rate) results. CTR goes beyond impressions tracking with CPM and measures the clicks on an ad or link, for example, compared to how often it is shown. Track both metrics to evaluate the effectiveness and cost-efficiency of ad campaigns.
For instance, a high CTR can indicate that your audience is grooving with your ad, while a low CTR suggests that audience retargeting or a creative refresh may be needed. High CPMs might signal the need to assess your ad’s relevance, refine your audience targeting, or adjust your bidding strategy to reduce costs. On the other hand, lower CPMs may indicate potential traffic challenges or quality issues.
Close to 53% of the open inventory (ad space) on the internet is conducted through PMPs – here’s what’s in it for everyone with Preferred Deals (PMP)
The CPM formula is calculated by taking the ad spend–the cost paid by the advertiser through the winning bid in the RTB (real-time bidding) process–dividing it by the number of impressions, and then multiplying by 1000. This figure represents the cost per 1,000 impressions, though the publisher received a portion of this amount after ad partner fees are deducted. When publishers view their CPM, they see the average revenue they receive per 1,000 ad impressions.
For example, a brokerage firm bids on a side rail ad slot to promote its trading platform. The total ad spend was $1500, and the ad received 600,000 impressions. The resulting CPM-the cost per 1,000 impressions–is $2.50.
Did you know automation makes digital advertising more efficient because buying occurs across multiple platforms? Learn more about what is programmatic advertising and how it can work for you.
CPM is not the only game in town; it is one of several pricing models available in digital advertising. Two other of the most common are Cost Per Click (CPC) and Cost Per Acquisition. Because there are a lot of different factors impacting the price of ad spend, it is essential to explore these alternative models since different approaches are chosen based on the advertiser’s goals and campaign performance. The type and size of ads, where the ad is placed on a site or in an app, the industry, and the demographics targeted can all influence costs. We’ll cover some of these factors next.
Calculate CPC by dividing the total ad cost by the number of clicks. For example, take an ad campaign promoting a new watch brand targeting high-end shoppers. The advertiser is testing their creative and sets a budget limit of $300 and receives 6,000 clicks, resulting in a CPC of $.05 per click. Advertisers often place a minimum or maximum bid to align with their budget or marketing goals. CPC metrics give you a low-risk way to test ads or ensure ad budgets remain targeted on results.
Why track CPC? This metric allows advertisers to optimize spending by paying only for ads that successfully attract clicks, improving ROI. Additionally, CPC helps gauge targeting efficiency: a lower CPC often indicates effective demographic targeting, driving traffic and building brand awareness.
CPA looks at the total cost of acquiring a customer through a specific channel or campaign, providing brands with a more precise measure of digital advertising success, taking a deeper dive than a basic customer acquisition cost (CAC). CPA goes beyond tracking a single conversion by accounting for the entire customer journey, from the first visit to the conversion.
To calculate CPA, divide the total cost (e.g. total media costs or costs by a specific channel or campaign) by the number of new customers acquired. For example, if your paid search campaign costs $3500 and results in 200 conversions, the CPA is $17.50. Lower CPAs indicate good budget management and a strong return on ad spend (ROAS), highlighting the effectiveness of the channel.
Are you missing revenue because ads aren’t served to site visitors? Take a moment to understand ad fill rates better and how ad fill rates will maximize your revenue.
One of the main benefits of CPM for advertisers is that it allows for easy budgeting and benchmarking against other advertising spend. In other words, how effectively did ad spend capture the audience’s attention? Here are some of the primary benefits:
Curious about optimizing CPM rates to match website value? Discover more about what floor pricing is and its impact.
Using CPM-based ads is a reliable way for publishers to monetize high-traffic pages and earn revenue without requiring specific user actions like clicks and purchases. Key benefits include:
Want to know which ad formats command the highest CPMs? Learn more about the factors influencing CPM rates.
As an advertiser or a publisher, understanding why and how CPM impacts campaign effectiveness is essential. Advertisers who find the right CPM balance will continue to invest in partnerships that deliver strong returns, while publishers can focus on factors like content quality, ad formats, and viewability to meet and exceed advertiser expectations.
At Next Millennium, we ensure that every ad and placement delivers optimal value. Simply said, we connect relevant, high-quality ads with relevant, high-quality publications, never jeopardizing publisher reputation, reader joy, or audience fit.
Are you ready to elevate your CPMs? Contact us today to discover how our programmatic advertising solutions drive measurable success for both advertisers and publishers.
Learn about our proven strategies and what others are saying about Next Millenium’s ad strategy and its impact on their success.